I have not used this format often…maybe once or twice…fitting for today…

Dear Georgie,

On this Valentine’s Day, thank you for being an incredible teacher for me about love.

My time with you was transformative (you knew that) and I am increasingly grateful – beyond words – every single day. Three years ago we spent Valentine’s Day together – just a few weeks before you died – and your gift to me was Eddie Izzard tickets…As Karen Fox says you loved anything with tickets! We shared that…falling in love that second time around at Spiderman…You came back into my life like magic…a magic in which I have finally, finally come to believe again…

I don’t have much to say that I did not say to you when you were alive (I am forever grateful for that).

You are still such an integral part of my life – as I was of yours – though for far too short a time. I have, finally learned though to not be so sad about losing you (despite my tears as I write tonight) – and to mainly feel so unbelievably fortunate for what we had – which is still hard to describe in words. But I feel it every day now – in everything that I do and in all the ways that I love and continue to grow.

The love that we shared endures far beyond me. My kids…they miss you so much…it’s been so gripping for me to go through their loss of you…And our friends and their friends…You are alive and with us all…because the kind of love you practiced had no bounds (and sometimes no boundaries – and yes I am laughing about that!) – and does truly transcend time.

With you I got to practice showing up and letting go of expectations. I continue to work on both – inspired…a determined work in progress. For a while after you died, I had a hard time showing up conscious, but I am back to that place…and I think often of our growing together days…and of our adventures near and far…routine and grand…intimate and shared…

Thank you for loving me so much that you always wanted to be with me and love me for better or worse – in sickness and in health (though you hated it when I was sick!) – and for the depth and breadth of the love we shared – emotional, physical, intellectual, serious, humorous…And for expanding my world in so many ways – helping me to realize how important deep connection and expansion are to me – and especially how important sharing expansion is to me…

I carry you with me in so many ways…you are a part of my heart and soul – and of how I think about the world…I feel your presence often…and sometimes we dance above the earth together…

Thank you, with love…

 

 

 

 

 

 

